APP/MATCHUP

MileIQ vs. Stride

MileIQ is published by MileIQ Inc. and has been on the App Store since 2013-01-15. Stride is published by Stride Health and has been available since 2015-10-12. Both track mileage automatically by GPS, and both are free to download — but they make money in completely different ways. This comparison is built from what each developer publishes — App Store listings and MileIQ’s own pricing page — with every claim sourced and anything unverifiable listed as such.

Everything below comes from published sources, checked on 2026-08-10 and linked in each section. Where the sources don’t answer a question, it’s listed under What we couldn’t verify rather than guessed at.

MileIQ

A dedicated automatic mileage tracker sold on a subscription, with a capped free tier and IRS-format reporting.

View on the App Store

Stride

A free tax and expense app for self-employed workers, with automatic mileage tracking alongside deduction finding and health insurance enrolment.

View on the App Store

MileIQ does one job and charges for it. Stride does more jobs and charges for none of them, because its business is selling health insurance to the self-employed. If mileage is all you need and you drive more than the free tier allows, MileIQ is the focused tool. If you want deductions and tax filing in the same app and don’t mind what it’s really selling, Stride costs nothing.

At a glance

Field MileIQ Stride
Developer MileIQ Inc. Stride Health
Price Free to download, capped at 40 drives per month; Unlimited $11.66/month billed annually or $13.99 monthly, per MileIQ’s pricing page on 2026-08-10 Free; the App Store listing states the app is free to use
App Store rating 4.77 from 112,153 ratings 4.84 from 95,758 ratings
Current version 5.66.1, updated 2026-08-25 26.8.0, updated 2026-09-01
First released 2013-01-15 2015-10-12
Install size 121.5 MB 105.3 MB
Minimum iOS 16.0 16.4
iPad support No Yes

Pulled from the App Store on 2026-09-04. Prices, versions, ratings, install sizes and OS requirements change — check the current App Store listing before relying on any of these values.

Feature comparison

Field MileIQ Stride
Differs: Free-tier limit 40 drives per month on the free plan, per MileIQ’s pricing page No limit stated; the listing describes the app as free
Differs: Pricing model Free tier plus an Unlimited subscription at $11.66/month billed annually or $13.99 monthly, per MileIQ’s pricing page The listing states the app is free, with no subscription named
Differs: Scope beyond mileage Mileage tracking and reporting only Expense logging, deduction finding, tax filing, and health and dental insurance enrolment, per its App Store description
Differs: Business model Subscriptions, sold directly to drivers and to teams Its listing offers health insurance from under $10 a month alongside the free tools, so the app is a route into an insurance marketplace
Mileage tracking Automatic GPS tracking running in the background, recording every drive, per its App Store description Automated GPS mileage tracking with reminders, per its App Store description
Classifying drives Swipe right for business, left for personal, with custom categories, notes and purposes Not stated on the App Store listing
Reporting IRS-compliant reports and auto-generated summaries for Schedule C and 1099 filing IRS-ready standard mileage logs and tax reports
Team use A separate MileIQ for Teams product tracks employee mileage for reimbursement Not stated
Tax filing Not offered; it produces reports you file elsewhere Filing is offered inside the app, per its App Store description

Sources for this section: MileIQ App Store listing, MileIQ pricing page, and Stride App Store listing. All three were checked on 2026-08-10. Published feature lists change — check the current pages before relying on any row above. A heavier amber rule marks a row where the two apps meaningfully differ.

Where each one fits

MileIQ is a single-purpose tool with thirteen years on the App Store behind it, and the rating count in the table above is the clearest measure of its scale. It lists classification controls Stride does not — swipe right for business, left for personal, with custom categories, notes and purposes — and it has a separate Teams product for tracking employee mileage. Against that, its free tier stops at 40 drives a month, and unlimited tracking costs $11.66 to $13.99 a month depending on how you pay. What MileIQ costs sets out both plans and what the 40-drive cap means in practice.

Stride is free with no stated drive limit, and it is far broader: expenses, deductions, filing and insurance enrolment in one app. Against that, its listing does not say how drives are classified as business or personal, and the free tools sit alongside an insurance marketplace — which is worth understanding before choosing it.

What we couldn’t verify

These are questions the published sources do not answer. They are listed here unresolved rather than guessed at.

  • Whether Stride’s mileage tracking has any drive limit, which its listing does not state
  • How Stride classifies business against personal drives, which its listing does not describe
  • Whether Stride’s tax filing carries a fee, since the listing describes the app as free without saying whether filing is included
  • Whether MileIQ’s in-app subscription price matches the figures on its website
  • How accurately either app’s automatic detection captures drives in practice, which no published source establishes

Ownership disclosure

AppMatchup is operated by Fogarty Holdings LLC, which publishes its own iOS apps.

Neither app on this page is one of them. MileIQ and Stride are published by MileIQ Inc. and Stride Health respectively, and Fogarty Holdings LLC has no stake in either.

Where a comparison on this site does include an app published by Fogarty Holdings LLC, that fact is labeled on that comparison page itself, next to the app it concerns.