Jobber vs. Housecall Pro
Jobber is published by Octopusapp Inc and Housecall Pro by Codefied Inc. Both are field service platforms for home-service businesses — scheduling, dispatch, quotes, invoicing and payments — and both are free to download with the platform sold by subscription. This comparison is built from what each developer publishes — App Store listings and both companies’ own pricing pages — with every claim sourced and anything unverifiable listed as such.
Everything below comes from published sources, checked on 2026-08-10 — with Jobber’s pricing page re-checked on 2026-08-25 — and linked in each section. Where the sources don’t answer a question, it’s listed under What we couldn’t verify rather than guessed at.
Jobber
A field service platform for quoting, scheduling, invoicing and payments, aimed at trades from HVAC to landscaping, priced per user.
Housecall Pro
A home-services platform with heavy emphasis on customer communication and online booking, sold in tiers by team size.
Jobber has the cheaper entry point and prices by the user, which suits a small crew that wants to add seats as it grows. Housecall Pro costs more to start but leads on the customer-facing side — online booking, on-my-way texts, review requests — which matters more if winning and keeping residential customers is the constraint rather than managing the work.
At a glance
| Field | Jobber | Housecall Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Octopusapp | Codefied |
| Price | Free to download; Core $49/month or $29/month billed annually, Plus $499/month or $399/month billed annually, with additional users $29/month each, per Jobber’s pricing page on 2026-08-25 | Free to download; Basic $59/month billed annually or $79/month, Essentials $149/month billed annually or $189/month, higher tiers by quote, excluding sales tax, per Housecall Pro’s pricing page on 2026-08-10 |
| App Store rating | 4.81 from 20,749 ratings | 4.65 from 29,396 ratings |
| Current version | 6.93.0, updated 2026-09-02 | 2026.9.1, updated 2026-09-02 |
| First released | 2015-08-21 | 2013-09-01 |
| Install size | 265.1 MB | 608.7 MB |
| Minimum iOS | 16.4 | 16.0 |
| iPad support | Yes | Yes |
Pulled from the App Store on 2026-09-04. Prices, versions, ratings, install sizes and OS requirements change — check the current App Store listing before relying on any of these values.
Feature comparison
| Field | Jobber | Housecall Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Differs: Entry price | Core, the entry plan, is $49/month, or $29/month billed annually, per Jobber’s pricing page | Basic starts at $59/month billed annually, or $79/month, per Housecall Pro’s pricing page |
| Differs: How pricing scales | Priced per user — each additional user is $29/month. Four published tiers — Core at $49/month, Connect at $139/month, Grow at $199/month and Plus at $499/month, or $29, $99, $149 and $399/month respectively billed annually. The users a tier includes change with the team size selected on its pricing page | Priced in tiers by team size — Basic, Essentials at $149/month billed annually or $189/month, and higher tiers quoted by sales rather than published |
| Differs: Online booking | Not stated in its App Store description | Customers can book available time slots through the business’s website, Yelp or Facebook |
| Differs: Customer communication | Client communication to reduce missed appointments and overdue invoices | Job status updates, on-my-way texts, automatic text and email reminders and confirmations, in-app messaging, and review requests |
| Scheduling and dispatch | Schedule optimisation, calendars and dispatch with real-time tracking | A drag-and-drop calendar, recurring jobs, team assignment, arrival windows, jobs pushed to technicians’ calendars and automatic phone notifications |
| Quotes and estimates | Quotes clients can approve online | Estimates created and sent from phone or computer, emailed automatically |
| Invoicing and payments | Invoices sent instantly, online payments accepted, and transactions tracked | Invoices and receipts emailed automatically, with line items customisable during the job |
| Accounting integration | Integrates with QuickBooks, per its App Store description | Not stated in its App Store description |
| Free trial | A 14-day free trial on the Grow plan, with no credit card required, per its pricing page | A 14-day free trial, per its pricing page |
Sources for this section: Jobber App Store listing, Jobber pricing page, Housecall Pro App Store listing, and Housecall Pro pricing page. The Housecall Pro sources were checked on 2026-08-10, and the Jobber sources were re-checked on 2026-08-25. Published feature lists change — check the current pages before relying on any row above. A heavier amber rule marks a row where the two apps meaningfully differ.
Where each one fits
Jobber is half the entry price at $29/month billed annually, or $49/month month-to-month, and it prices per user, so the cost scales predictably as a crew grows rather than stepping up in tiers. It also integrates with QuickBooks. Against that, its listing does not mention online booking, and its customer-communication features are described far more thinly than Housecall Pro’s. Field Stub vs. Jobber sets the same per-user subscription against a one-time purchase. Field Stub is published by Fogarty Holdings LLC, which operates this site.
Housecall Pro has the stronger customer-facing side — online booking through the business’s website, Yelp or Facebook, automated reminders and confirmations, on-my-way texts and review requests — and it offers a 14-day trial. Against that, it starts at $59 to $79 a month depending on how you pay, its higher tiers are quoted by sales rather than published, and its listing does not mention accounting integration.
What we couldn’t verify
These are questions the published sources do not answer. They are listed here unresolved rather than guessed at.
- How many users each Jobber tier includes. Its pricing page varies the count with the team size selected, and Jobber’s help-centre articles for the Grow and Plus plans give figures that do not match it
- What Housecall Pro’s tiers above Essentials cost, since its pricing page shows them as quote-only
- Whether either platform charges transaction fees on payments taken through the app, which neither listing states
- Whether Jobber offers online booking despite not describing it in its App Store listing
- How either platform performs at scale in practice, which no published source establishes
Ownership disclosure
AppMatchup is operated by Fogarty Holdings LLC, which publishes its own iOS apps.
Neither app on this page is one of them. Jobber and Housecall Pro are published by Octopusapp Inc and Codefied Inc. respectively, and Fogarty Holdings LLC has no stake in either.
Where a comparison on this site does include an app published by Fogarty Holdings LLC, that fact is labeled on that comparison page itself, next to the app it concerns.