Field Stub vs. Jobber
Field Stub and Jobber are both free to download, and both are used by people who bill for work done at a client’s site. They are not the same kind of tool: Field Stub is a single-person visit logbook sold as a one-time unlock, and Jobber is a field service platform for a team, sold per user by subscription. This comparison is built from what each developer publishes — Jobber’s App Store listing and pricing page, and Field Stub’s product page — with every claim sourced and anything unverifiable listed as such. Field Stub is published by Fogarty Holdings LLC, which also operates AppMatchup; see the disclosure below.
Everything below comes from published sources, checked on 2026-08-10 — with Jobber’s pricing page re-checked on 2026-08-25 — and linked in each section. Where the sources don’t answer a question, it’s listed under What we couldn’t verify rather than guessed at.
Field Stub
A visit logbook for a solo IT contractor, storing everything on the device and sold as a one-time unlock.
Published by Fogarty Holdings LLC, which operates AppMatchup.
Jobber
A field service platform covering quoting, scheduling, dispatch, invoicing and payments across a team, priced per user.
These are not competing for the same buyer. Jobber runs a business — scheduling a crew, quoting work, sending invoices, taking payment. Field Stub documents one person’s visits and produces a record to hand a client. If you have people to dispatch and invoices to chase, Jobber is the category. If you are the whole company and you need the visit written down properly, Field Stub is far narrower and costs once.
At a glance
| Field | Field Stub | Jobber |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Fogarty Holdings LLC | Octopusapp |
| Price | Free to download, capped at 5 clients; a $39.99 one-time in-app purchase unlocks Pro | Free to download; Core $49/month or $29/month billed annually, Plus $499/month or $399/month billed annually, with additional users $29/month each, per Jobber’s pricing page on 2026-08-25 |
| App Store rating | 5.00 from 2 ratings | 4.81 from 20,749 ratings |
| Current version | 1.0.7, updated 2026-08-26 | 6.93.0, updated 2026-09-02 |
| First released | 2026-05-07 | 2015-08-21 |
| Install size | 11.7 MB | 265.1 MB |
| Minimum iOS | 17.0 | 16.4 |
| iPad support | Yes | Yes |
Pulled from the App Store on 2026-09-04. Prices, versions, ratings, install sizes and OS requirements change — check the current App Store listing before relying on any of these values.
Feature comparison
| Field | Field Stub | Jobber |
|---|---|---|
| Differs: Pricing model | A single $39.99 in-app purchase unlocks Pro permanently. No subscription | Subscription, with each additional user $29/month. Four published tiers — Core at $49/month, Connect at $139/month, Grow at $199/month and Plus at $499/month, or $29, $99, $149 and $399/month respectively billed annually. The users a tier includes change with the team size selected on its pricing page, per Jobber’s pricing page |
| Differs: Free tier | Unlimited visits, notes, photos and parts, up to 5 clients, full visit history, and CSV export across any date range | A 14-day free trial on the Grow plan with no credit card required, rather than a free tier, per its pricing page |
| Differs: Team and dispatch | Not offered — it is a single-user log | Scheduling, calendars and dispatch with real-time tracking across a team |
| Differs: Where data lives | Everything is stored locally on the device, with no cloud account and no telemetry | A cloud platform, with accounts and web access |
| What a visit records | A visit timer, notes, photos and parts logged inline, GPS captured at start and end with permission as proof of presence, and miles entered manually per visit | Client details, job history and field documentation |
| Client-facing output | CSV export on the free tier; a PDF report with embedded map, photos, transcripts and totals is Pro | Quotes clients approve online, and invoices sent from the app |
| Invoicing and payments | Not offered — it produces records you invoice from elsewhere | Invoicing, online payment acceptance, transaction tracking and QuickBooks integration |
| Voice notes | Voice memos transcribed on-device, with audio never leaving the phone. Pro only | Not stated in its App Store description |
| Offline use | Works fully offline | Not stated in its App Store description |
Sources for this section: Field Stub product page, Jobber App Store listing, and Jobber pricing page. The Field Stub source was checked on 2026-08-10, and the Jobber sources were re-checked on 2026-08-25. Published feature lists change — check the current pages before relying on any row above. A heavier amber rule marks a row where the two apps meaningfully differ.
Where each one fits
Field Stub, which we publish, is $39.99 once rather than a recurring per-user subscription, its free tier is a genuine free tier rather than a trial, everything is stored on the device with no account, and it works fully offline. The limits are plain. It does no scheduling, no dispatch, no quoting and no invoicing. It supports one user only. Its free tier stops at five clients. And it is a far newer and far less used app — the rating counts in the table above show the gap.
Jobber is the broader tool by a wide margin, covering quoting, scheduling, dispatch, invoicing, payments and QuickBooks integration across a team, with a decade on the App Store behind it. Against that, it is a recurring cost that rises with every user added, it offers a trial rather than a free tier, and it is built for businesses with staff rather than for one person documenting their own visits. Jobber vs. Housecall Pro sets that per-user pricing against the other large field-service app.
What we couldn’t verify
These are questions the published sources do not answer. They are listed here unresolved rather than guessed at.
- How many users each Jobber tier includes. Its pricing page varies the count with the team size selected, and Jobber’s help-centre articles for the Grow and Plus plans give figures that do not match it
- Whether Jobber charges transaction fees on payments taken through the app, which neither its listing nor its pricing page states
- Whether Jobber’s app works offline, which its App Store description does not mention
- What happens in Field Stub when a free user reaches the fifth client, which its published material does not describe
- Whether either app’s export is accepted by common accounting software without rework, which no published source establishes
Ownership disclosure
AppMatchup is operated by Fogarty Holdings LLC.
Field Stub, one of the two apps on this page, is published by Fogarty Holdings LLC. Jobber is published by Octopusapp Inc, which has no connection to Fogarty Holdings LLC. This page compares an app we publish against one we don’t, and you should read it with that in mind.
Every claim above is sourced to a published page, listed under the tables. Where the sources don’t answer a question, it’s listed under What we couldn’t verify rather than resolved in our own favour.