CARROT Weather vs. Hello Weather
CARROT Weather is published by Grailr LLC and has been on the App Store since 2015-03-19. Hello Weather is published by Electric Dream Machine LLC and has been available since 2016-01-12. Both are free to download, both sell a paid tier, both offer a family option, and both let a paying customer choose which company’s forecast they see — which makes them closer in shape than almost any other pair on this site. They part company on two things: how many paid tiers there are, and whether you can stop paying. This comparison is built from what each developer publishes — App Store listings, CARROT’s support FAQ and press kit, and Hello Weather’s own site — with every claim sourced and anything unverifiable listed as such.
Everything below comes from published sources, checked on 2026-08-24 and linked in each section. Where the sources don’t answer a question, it’s listed under What we couldn’t verify rather than guessed at.
CARROT Weather
A heavily customisable weather app with a written personality, selling two paid tiers by subscription only.
Hello Weather
A deliberately plain weather app with one paid tier, sold monthly, yearly or as a one-time purchase.
Hello Weather will sell you the app outright. CARROT will not — every level it offers is a subscription. If you have decided you want a weather app for the next ten years, that is the difference that compounds, and it is the one neither developer’s own site tells you about.
At a glance
| Field | CARROT Weather | Hello Weather |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Grailr LLC | Electric Dream Machine LLC |
| Price | Free to download with in-app purchases; Grailr’s FAQ describes three subscription levels without naming a price, and the figures on its press kit are attached to a past release, per both pages on 2026-08-24 | Free to download with in-app purchases; Pro $1.99/month, $19.99/year or $99.99 once, and Pro Family $2.99/month, $29.99/year or $149.99 once, per its App Store listing on 2026-08-24 |
| App Store rating | 4.70 from 86,957 ratings | 4.70 from 9,476 ratings |
| Current version | 6.8.0, updated 2026-08-06 | 26.6.7, updated 2026-09-03 |
| First released | 2015-03-19 | 2016-01-12 |
| Install size | 423.5 MB | 320.5 MB |
| Minimum iOS | 15.0 | 17.0 |
| iPad support | Yes | Yes |
Pulled from the App Store on 2026-09-04. Prices, versions, ratings, install sizes and OS requirements change — check the current App Store listing before relying on any of these values.
Feature comparison
| Field | CARROT Weather | Hello Weather |
|---|---|---|
| Differs: Can you buy it outright | No. Every level named on its FAQ, its press kit and its App Store in-app-purchase list is a subscription | Yes. Its App Store in-app-purchase list carries a Lifetime item and a Lifetime (Family) item alongside the monthly and yearly ones |
| Differs: How many paid tiers | Two levels of capability, Premium and Premium Ultra, plus Premium Family described as Premium Ultra shared with up to five family members | One level, Pro, with a Family variant of the same tier |
| Differs: What the free app keeps | Not stated. Its FAQ describes the download as free with a 7-day trial without saying what remains when the trial ends | Stated plainly in its listing: forecasts powered by Apple Weather, automatic colour themes and dark mode, unit customisation, real-time precipitation estimates, basic radar, and no advertising |
| Choosing your forecast provider | Foreca by default; Premium members can switch to Apple Weather, AccuWeather, Tomorrow.io, OpenWeather or Xweather, with regional sources and personal weather stations from WeatherFlow/Tempest and Netatmo, per its FAQ | Apple Weather on the free tier; Pro adds AccuWeather, Custom Weather, Foreca, OpenWeather, Pirate Weather, The Weather Company, Tomorrow.io, Visual Crossing, Weatherbit and Xweather, per its App Store description |
| Differs: Geographic limits | Stated in detail. Its FAQ lists notifications and map layers by region, with some worldwide and others limited to particular countries | Not described, beyond noting that air quality and pollen information depends on which data source is selected |
| Widgets and Apple Watch | Widgets and Apple Watch complications on Premium, with the Weather Maps widget requiring Premium Ultra, per its FAQ | Home Screen and Lock Screen widgets, an Apple Watch app and complications, all listed as Pro features |
| Differs: Where the prices are published | Not on the FAQ. Figures appear on the press kit, attached to a past release, and in the App Store in-app-purchase list, which does not match it | Not on the developer’s site at all. Figures appear only in the App Store in-app-purchase list |
| Differs: Minimum iOS | 15.0 | 17.0 |
Sources for this section: CARROT Weather App Store listing, CARROT Weather support FAQ, CARROT Weather press kit, Hello Weather App Store listing, and the Hello Weather site. All five were checked on 2026-08-24. Published feature lists change — check the current pages before relying on any row above. A heavier amber rule marks a row where the two apps meaningfully differ.
Where each one fits
CARROT Weather is the larger app in every sense, and it suits someone who wants to configure a weather app rather than simply read one. It lists more forecast sources than Hello Weather once you include the regional providers, adds personal weather station networks, and publishes an unusually detailed map layer and notification list. Two things sit against it. Its capabilities are divided across two paid levels rather than one, so the storm and lightning notifications many people are actually shopping for are on the more expensive tier. And more of what it sells is restricted by country than any other app compared on this site — its FAQ lists notifications and map layers region by region, and several exist only in the United States. Anyone outside the countries on those lists is paying the same subscription for a smaller product. What CARROT Weather costs sets out both tiers, the full regional lists, and where the figures are and are not published.
Hello Weather suits the opposite instinct. It has one paid tier instead of two, so there is no question of which level you need, and its listing states plainly what the free app keeps — something CARROT’s FAQ never does. It offers a wider list of forecast providers on that single tier than CARROT offers on its entry one, and it carries no advertising on the free tier by its own description. Most consequentially, it is the only one of the two you can buy once and own: its in-app-purchase list carries lifetime items for both the individual and family versions, which changes the arithmetic entirely for anyone planning to keep the app for years. Against that, it requires iOS 17.0 where CARROT runs on 15.0, its developer’s site publishes no price of any kind, and it describes nothing equivalent to CARROT’s regional map and notification detail.
Neither developer will tell you the price on its own site, which is a pattern this site has looked at directly in where app developers actually publish their prices. CARROT is also set against an ad-supported rival in CARROT Weather vs. Weather Underground.
What we couldn’t verify
These are questions the published sources do not answer. They are listed here unresolved rather than guessed at.
- What CARROT’s subscriptions currently cost. Its FAQ names no figure, its press kit’s figures are attached to a past release, and its App Store in-app-purchase list carries more figures than either page accounts for
- What CARROT Premium Family costs, or whether it is still sold. It is described on the FAQ and in the App Store description, but no item of that name appears in the App Store in-app-purchase list
- What CARROT does with no subscription at all, which its FAQ does not state
- Whether Hello Weather’s Lifetime purchase covers future data sources and features, or only those present when it is bought, which its listing does not say
- Which of Hello Weather’s data sources support air quality and pollen, which its listing makes conditional without naming them
- Whether either app’s in-app subscription price matches any price on the developer’s own site, which App Store listings do not show
- How the two apps’ forecasts compare in practice, which no published source establishes
Ownership disclosure
AppMatchup is operated by Fogarty Holdings LLC, which publishes its own iOS apps.
Neither app on this page is one of them. CARROT Weather and Hello Weather are published by Grailr LLC and Electric Dream Machine LLC respectively, and Fogarty Holdings LLC has no stake in either.
Where a comparison on this site does include an app published by Fogarty Holdings LLC, that fact is labeled on that comparison page itself, next to the app it concerns.