APP/MATCHUP

Apple Reminders vs. Google Tasks

Apple Reminders is published by Apple Inc. and has been on the App Store since 2016-05-23. Google Tasks is published by Google LLC and has been available since 2018-04-27. Neither charges anything, and neither listing carries an in-app purchase, which makes the usual question the wrong one to open with. What these two ask for is not money. It is an account, an ecosystem, and a tolerance for the things each one does not do. This comparison is built from what each developer publishes — App Store listings, Apple’s iCloud and iPhone user guides, and Google’s own Tasks help and developer documentation — with every claim sourced and anything unverifiable listed as such.

Everything below comes from published sources, checked on 2026-08-24 and linked in each section. Where the sources don’t answer a question, it’s listed under What we couldn’t verify rather than guessed at.

Apple Reminders

The task list that comes with the phone, syncing through iCloud across the devices signed in to one Apple Account.

View on the App Store

Google Tasks

A task list tied to a Google Account, reachable from the side panel of Gmail, Calendar, Drive and Docs as well as from its own app.

View on the App Store

Neither app charges, so price is not what you are choosing between. You are choosing an account. Reminders keeps your list wherever you are signed in to your Apple Account; Google Tasks keeps it wherever you are signed in to Google. Whichever of those you already live inside is the one that will cost you least, and the cost of the other is everything it cannot reach.

At a glance

Field Apple Reminders Google Tasks
Developer Apple Inc. Google LLC
Price Free Free
App Store rating 4.83 from 995,157 ratings 4.80 from 106,160 ratings
Current version 2.0, updated 2025-12-12 26.35.0, updated 2026-09-02
First released 2016-05-23 2018-04-27
Install size 4.2 MB 166.8 MB
Minimum iOS 10.0 17.0
iPad support Yes Yes

Pulled from the App Store on 2026-09-04. Prices, versions, ratings, install sizes and OS requirements change — check the current App Store listing before relying on any of these values.

Apple Reminders ships with iOS; its App Store entry exists so the app can be re-downloaded if it has been removed from a device. The version, update date, install size and minimum iOS shown for it above describe that store entry, not the copy of Reminders running on a current iPhone. Google Tasks is an ordinary App Store download, so its figures in those same rows describe the app itself — the two columns are not measuring the same thing.

Feature comparison

Field Apple Reminders Google Tasks
Price Free, with no in-app purchases listed Free, with no in-app purchases listed
Differs: Account it runs on An Apple Account. Apple’s iCloud guide states you must be signed in to the same Apple Account on each device for Reminders to sync A Google Account. Google states one is needed to store your preferences, sign you in, and get you tasks you created on other devices
Differs: Other accounts it will hold iCloud, Microsoft Exchange and Yahoo accounts, per Apple’s iPhone user guide Not stated. Google’s published material describes Google Accounts only
Differs: Where it exists beyond the phone Its App Store listing names iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Apple Vision. Apple’s iCloud guide separately names iPhone, iPad, Mac and iCloud.com Its App Store listing names iPhone and iPad only. Google’s help lists Tasks in the side panel of Gmail, Calendar, Chat, Drive, Docs, Sheets and Slides, and on Chrome OS and in Keep
Differs: Relationship to other apps Its App Store description names iCloud sync and nothing further Its App Store description leads on integration with Gmail and Google Calendar, including creating a task directly from an email and viewing tasks in Gmail’s side panel
Published limits None stated on its listing or in the Apple guides read for this page None stated for a person’s lists or tasks. The only figure Google publishes is a courtesy limit of 50,000 queries a day on the Tasks API, which governs developer access rather than your own list
Differs: What the developer says about your data Its listing describes iCloud sync and says nothing further about how the data is handled Google states that tasks are stored in its data centres and encrypted in transit and at rest, and that it does not use information in apps where you primarily store personal content, including Tasks, for advertising
Languages Not stated on its App Store listing English and 54 more, per its App Store listing

Sources for this section: Apple Reminders App Store listing, Apple, Set up iCloud for Reminders on all your devices, Apple, Add or remove accounts in Reminders on iPhone, Google Tasks App Store listing, Google, Learn about Google Tasks, Google, How Tasks protects your privacy and keeps you in control, and Google Tasks API quotas and usage limits. All seven were checked on 2026-08-24. Published feature lists change — check the current pages before relying on any row above. A heavier amber rule marks a row where the two apps meaningfully differ.

Where each one fits

Apple Reminders reaches the most Apple surfaces of the two. Its listing covers iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Apple Vision, and Apple’s iCloud guide separately describes it on Mac and at iCloud.com. It will hold Exchange and Yahoo accounts as well as iCloud ones, so it is not strictly a single-account app. And it has the lowest iOS floor of anything compared on this site, at 10.0, which matters if the phone in question is an old one. Against that, everything about how it syncs assumes an Apple Account, its listing says nothing about what happens to the data beyond the fact of iCloud sync, and nothing Apple publishes here describes it running anywhere outside Apple’s own platforms.

Google Tasks is best understood as a companion to Gmail and Google Calendar rather than as a standalone task manager, and Google’s own material describes it that way — its App Store description leads on those integrations, and Google’s help lists Tasks in the side panel of Gmail, Calendar, Chat, Drive, Docs, Sheets and Slides. If your day already runs through those, the task list is already where you are. Google also publishes something Apple does not match here: an explicit statement that Tasks content is not used for advertising, and no ceiling of any kind on how many lists or tasks you keep. Against that, its App Store listing covers iPhone and iPad only — no Mac, no Apple Watch — and it requires iOS 17.0 where Reminders requires 10.0. Outside the Google side panel it is a thinner app than its rival.

Both of these stop well short of what a paid task manager does, and the ceiling you hit is a feature ceiling rather than a billing one. Where the paid end of this category draws its lines is set out in Todoist vs. TickTick, and what Todoist costs covers the one boundary most likely to catch someone moving up from a free default — that custom, recurring and location-based reminders are a paid feature there.

What we couldn’t verify

These are questions the published sources do not answer. They are listed here unresolved rather than guessed at.

  • Whether Reminders can be used with no account at all, keeping lists only on the device. Apple’s guide names the account types Reminders will hold but does not address the no-account case
  • Which devices Reminders actually covers. Its App Store listing names iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Apple Vision; Apple’s iCloud guide names iPhone, iPad, Mac and iCloud.com. The two Apple pages describe different sets and neither reconciles them
  • Whether Google sets any ceiling on lists or tasks per person. The only limits page Google publishes covers API queries, not a user’s own list
  • Whether either app works usefully with no network connection, which neither listing nor either help centre describes
  • Whether Apple applies to Reminders the same commitment Google publishes for Tasks about not using the content for advertising; Apple’s Reminders material makes no equivalent statement either way
  • How either app behaves with a very large list, which no published source establishes

Ownership disclosure

AppMatchup is operated by Fogarty Holdings LLC, which publishes its own iOS apps.

Neither app on this page is one of them. Apple Reminders and Google Tasks are published by Apple Inc. and Google LLC respectively, and Fogarty Holdings LLC has no stake in either.

Where a comparison on this site does include an app published by Fogarty Holdings LLC, that fact is labeled on that comparison page itself, next to the app it concerns.