APP/MATCHUP

TagSweep vs. Sortly

TagSweep and Sortly both scan barcodes into an inventory you can export, and both are free up to a hundred records. They are not the same kind of tool: Sortly is a cloud inventory platform for tracking what a business owns over time, and TagSweep is a scanner that produces a spreadsheet and hands it to whatever system you already use. This comparison is built from what each developer publishes, with every claim sourced and anything unverifiable listed as such. TagSweep is published by Fogarty Holdings LLC, which also operates AppMatchup; see the disclosure below.

Everything below comes from published sources, checked on 2026-08-21 — with Sortly’s pricing page re-checked on 2026-08-25 — and linked in each section. Where the sources don’t answer a question, it’s listed under What we couldn’t verify rather than guessed at.

TagSweep

A scanner for asset tags that reads the barcode and the printed number together and exports a spreadsheet, built for school device inventories.

Published by Fogarty Holdings LLC, which operates AppMatchup.

View on the App Store

Sortly

A cloud inventory platform organised into folders and items, with barcode scanning, label generation and tiers priced per user licence.

View on the App Store

Sortly is where an inventory lives. TagSweep is how a list of devices gets collected and handed over — it produces a file for the system your district already made you use, and then it is done. If you need somewhere to keep the inventory, Sortly is that. If you already have somewhere and the hard part is the hallway, they are solving different problems.

At a glance

Field TagSweep Sortly
Developer Fogarty Holdings LLC Sortly Inc.
Price Free to download, capped at 100 devices with every feature included; $29.99 one-time to remove the limit Free plan at $0; Advanced $49/month or $24/month billed yearly ($288/yr); Ultra $149/month or $74/month billed yearly ($888/yr). The yearly discount shown is a first-year rate — per Sortly’s pricing page on 2026-08-21
App Store rating 5.00 from 1 ratings 4.73 from 9,466 ratings
Current version 1.0, updated 2026-08-06 10.26.1, updated 2026-08-26
First released 2026-08-06 2012-06-05
Install size 2.2 MB 57.3 MB
Minimum iOS 17.0 18.5
iPad support No Yes

Pulled from the App Store on 2026-09-04. Prices, versions, ratings, install sizes and OS requirements change — check the current App Store listing before relying on any of these values.

Feature comparison

Field TagSweep Sortly
Differs: Pricing model A single $29.99 in-app purchase removes the device limit permanently. No subscription Subscription — Advanced at $49 a month or $24 a month billed yearly at $288; Ultra at $149 a month or $74 a month billed yearly at $888, per Sortly’s pricing page
Differs: What the free tier includes Up to 100 devices with every feature included, and its listing states export always works on the free tier 100 unique items, 1 user licence and 2 active jobs, with one month of activity history. Its pricing page places unlimited QR code label creation on Advanced, barcode label creation from Ultra, and none at all on the free plan
Differs: Where data lives On the device. Its listing states there is no account, no sign-in, no cloud sync and no analytics, that nothing is uploaded — not the inventory and not a student’s name — and that deleting the app deletes the data In the cloud, with automatic syncing across devices and users, and offline access
Differs: Team use Not offered — it is a single-device tool User licences by tier, from 1 on the free plan to 5 on Ultra, with customisable user access
Scanning Reads the barcode and the printed number at the same time, so a worn label still resolves, with continuous capture between devices and the option to photograph labels and process them later Barcode and QR scanning. Label creation is QR only on Advanced, with barcodes from Ultra
What it produces A CSV shaped for the system you already use, with a preview before anything is written Inventory reporting, pick lists, and low-stock and date-based alerts
Handing devices out Import a roster, tap a person and scan their device, with support for multiple devices each, absences, and resuming where you stopped Not stated in its App Store description
Import Imports an existing spreadsheet including inconsistent columns, with a column mapping saved as a reusable profile Inventory import, per its App Store description
Offline use Works offline, with its listing naming a wiring closet with no signal Offline access with automatic syncing when reconnected

Sources for this section: TagSweep App Store listing, Sortly App Store listing, and Sortly pricing page. The TagSweep source was checked on 2026-08-21, and the Sortly sources were re-checked on 2026-08-25. Published feature lists change — check the current pages before relying on any row above. A heavier amber rule marks a row where the two apps meaningfully differ.

Where each one fits

TagSweep, which we publish, costs $29.99 once rather than a recurring subscription, includes every feature on its free tier rather than gating export behind a paid plan, reads the barcode and the printed number together so a worn label still resolves, hands devices out against an imported roster, and keeps everything on the device with nothing uploaded. The limits are plain and worth stating outright. It is a single-device tool with no team access and no cloud. It does not store or manage an inventory over time. It offers no alerts, no pick lists and no reporting. And it is two weeks old with one App Store rating, against Sortly’s fourteen years — there is no track record here to judge it by.

Sortly has fourteen years on the App Store, gives the inventory somewhere to actually live, syncs across a team, generates labels, and offers alerts and reporting, with folders and photos for items you handle physically. Against that, it is a recurring cost that rises with users and items, it requires iOS 18.5 where TagSweep runs on 17.0, its free plan allows one user licence, and its yearly rate is stated on its own page as a first-year discount. Sortly vs. Orca Scan covers what that subscription looks like against per-unit pricing.

What we couldn’t verify

These are questions the published sources do not answer. They are listed here unresolved rather than guessed at.

  • Whether TagSweep’s 100-device free limit counts devices currently stored or devices ever scanned, which its listing does not specify
  • Whether either app’s export is accepted by the district systems TagSweep names without rework, which no published source establishes
  • Whether Sortly counts locations as a limit, which its pricing page does not mention
  • How accurately TagSweep’s combined barcode and text reading performs on worn labels in practice, which no published source establishes

Ownership disclosure

AppMatchup is operated by Fogarty Holdings LLC.

TagSweep, one of the two apps on this page, is published by Fogarty Holdings LLC. Sortly is published by Sortly Inc., which has no connection to Fogarty Holdings LLC. This page compares an app we publish against one we don’t, and you should read it with that in mind.

Every claim above is sourced to a published page, listed under the tables. Where the sources don’t answer a question, it’s listed under What we couldn’t verify rather than resolved in our own favour.