APP/MATCHUP

Referra vs. Contacts Journal CRM

Referra and Contacts Journal CRM are both free to download, and both ask you to log your own interactions rather than reading them from your inbox. They differ in scope: Contacts Journal is a general relationship CRM for anyone with clients, and Referra covers two jobs for a cash-pay or private-pay practice: tracking who refers business, and checking back in with past clients and with prospects who chose to try insurance first. This comparison is built from what each developer publishes, with every claim sourced and anything unverifiable listed as such. Referra is published by Fogarty Holdings LLC, which also operates AppMatchup; see the disclosure below.

Everything below comes from published sources, checked on 2026-08-12 and linked in each section. Where the sources don’t answer a question, it’s listed under What we couldn’t verify rather than guessed at.

Referra

A referral and client check-in app for cash-pay and private-pay practices, for keeping up with the people who send you clients and the clients and prospects you might otherwise lose touch with.

Published by Fogarty Holdings LLC, which operates AppMatchup.

View on the App Store

Contacts Journal CRM

A general-purpose relationship CRM used across client-facing professions, with tags, custom fields and company accounts.

View on the App Store

These differ in scope more than in kind. Contacts Journal is a general relationship CRM that any client-facing professional can bend to their own workflow. Referra is built for a cash-pay or private-pay practice that grows through referrals and returning clients, and does not try to be anything else. If your work doesn’t depend on referral sources or on reaching back out to past clients, the narrower tool has nothing extra to offer you.

At a glance

Field Referra Contacts Journal CRM
Developer Fogarty Holdings LLC Zaal
Price Free to download, capped at 25 contacts and 10 people on check-ins; Pro $4.99/month, $39.99/year, or $129.99 once Free to download with in-app purchases; no price is published on the developer’s site
App Store rating 5.00 from 3 ratings 4.73 from 2,409 ratings
Current version 1.7.1, updated 2026-08-30 7.0.6, updated 2026-08-30
First released 2026-04-25 2009-09-14
Install size 3.8 MB 75.8 MB
Minimum iOS 17.0 17.0
iPad support Yes Yes

Pulled from the App Store on 2026-09-04. Prices, versions, ratings, install sizes and OS requirements change — check the current App Store listing before relying on any of these values.

Feature comparison

Field Referra Contacts Journal CRM
Differs: Scope Two jobs for one kind of practice: tracking who sends you clients and how often you speak to them, and checking back in with past clients and with prospects who chose to try insurance first A general relationship CRM, its listing naming sales professionals, small business owners, freelancers, consultants, real estate agents and lawyers among its users
Differs: Pricing model Free tier, then Pro at $4.99/month, $39.99/year, or $129.99 once. Pro removes two limits: the 25-contact cap and the 10-person cap on check-ins Free with in-app purchases; no price is published on the developer’s site
Differs: Free tier Up to 25 contacts and up to 10 people on check-ins at a time, with unlimited interactions, unlimited reminders and full analytics Not stated in its App Store description
Differs: Where data lives In the user’s own iCloud account, syncing across their devices and inaccessible to the developer, with no analytics tracking and no third-party services Described as a private address book under the user’s control, with no further detail given
Differs: Client check-ins After a discovery call, the user records whether the person booked an evaluation or chose to try insurance first. Prospects who chose insurance come up for a check-in at 4 weeks and 3 months, and clients who finish treatment at 3, 6 and 12 months, each in one list with a drafted text the user can edit. Every message opens in the user’s own Messages app and is sent from their own number; Referra sends nothing on its own Not described in its App Store description, which lists ToDos with reminders
What it records Contacts with a category and organization, one-tap logging of calls, emails, texts and visits, referrals received, including batch logging from a single event, and the outcome of each discovery call entered for check-ins Logs written per meeting, ToDos with reminders, and attached images and documents
Analytics Top referrers, where business comes from, week-over-week trends, and which contacts need outreach Not stated in its App Store description
Organizing contacts A category and organization on each contact Tags, favourites, groups, filters, company accounts linking multiple contacts, custom fields, and duplicate detection and merge
Importing contacts Not stated in its App Store description Imports from the iOS Contacts app or a CSV file
Stated limits Its listing states plainly that it is not a medical record system and is not for storing PHI, treatment notes or diagnoses No equivalent statement

Sources for this section: Referra App Store listing, Referra privacy policy, and Contacts Journal CRM App Store listing. All three were checked on 2026-08-12. The client check-ins row and Referra’s check-in limit come from Referra’s product page, which describes version 1.8. Published feature lists change, so check the current pages before relying on any row above. A heavier amber rule marks a row where the two apps meaningfully differ.

Where each one fits

Referra, which we publish, is built around two jobs for a cash-pay or private-pay practice: tracking who refers business, and checking back in with past clients and with prospects who chose to try insurance first. Check-ins come up on a fixed schedule with a drafted text, and the user sends each one from their own Messages app. It keeps analytics, interactions and reminders on its free tier, and Pro lifts only two caps, on contacts and on people in check-ins. It offers a $129.99 one-time purchase alongside the subscription, reports referral-specific analytics, and holds data in the user’s own iCloud rather than the developer’s. The limits are plain. Outside those two jobs it has little to offer. It has no company accounts, no custom fields, no duplicate detection and no contact mapping. Its listing does not mention importing contacts. And it is a far newer and far less used app; the rating counts in the table above show the gap.

Contacts Journal CRM has seventeen years on the App Store and a much broader feature set, with tags, groups, filters, company accounts, custom fields, duplicate detection and merge, contact mapping and CSV import, used across many client-facing professions. Against that, its developer publishes no price for the in-app upgrade, and it offers no referral tracking or analytics of any kind. Contacts Journal CRM is also set against Cloze in Cloze vs. Contacts Journal CRM.

What we couldn’t verify

These are questions the published sources do not answer. They are listed here unresolved rather than guessed at.

  • What Contacts Journal CRM’s in-app purchase costs; its developer’s site publishes no pricing
  • Whether Contacts Journal syncs between devices, which its listing does not state
  • Whether either app can export its data, which neither listing describes
  • Whether Contacts Journal’s AI-assisted email sends contact data to a third-party service, which its listing does not say
  • How either app performs in practice, which no published source establishes

Ownership disclosure

AppMatchup is operated by Fogarty Holdings LLC.

Referra, one of the two apps on this page, is published by Fogarty Holdings LLC. Contacts Journal CRM is published by zaal LLC, which has no connection to Fogarty Holdings LLC. This page compares an app we publish against one we don’t, and you should read it with that in mind.

Every claim above is sourced to a published page, listed under the tables. Where the sources don’t answer a question, it’s listed under What we couldn’t verify rather than resolved in our own favour.